Myanmar enters UNESCO World Heritage List

The 38th Session of World Heritage Committee recently voted to include three Pyu ancient cities in Myanmar as world heritage sites. This marks a historical moment as it is the very first site from Myanmar to be included on the UNESCO World Heritage Site list.

Pyu Ancient Cities consist of the remains of three brick, walled and moated cities; Halin (located in Shwebo District of Sagaing Region), Beikthano (situated in Taungtwingyi Township of Magwe Region), and Sri Ksetra (in Pyay District of Bago Region) – all positioned along the dry and arid landscapes of the Ayeyarwady River basin. They are a legacy from the Pyu Kingdoms that flourished for over 1,000 years between 200B.C and 900 A.D, today observed as partly excavated archaeological sites.

Visitors to the area can witness excavated palace citadels, burial grounds, standing walls and monumental brick Buddhist stupas, revealing the historical importance of the site. Our cultural tours of Myanmar reveal the compelling history and facts behind these ancient cities.

  • facebook
  • googleplus
  • twitter
  • linkedin
  • linkedin