Vietnam Named World’s Leading Heritage Destination for Second Year

The World Travel Awards (WTA) has unveiled the 2020 winners of its World categories, and has named Vietnam as the World’s Leading Heritage Destination for the second year in a row. The results were based on votes cast by travel industry professionals and the public, and are a testament to the country’s efforts to preserve its cultural heritage.

Vietnam is home to eight world heritage sites recognized by UNESCO: the Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park, My Son Sanctuary, Hoi An ancient town, Complex of Hue Monuments, Ha Long Bay, Trang An Landscape Complex, Thang Long Imperial Citadel, and Ho Dynasty Citadel. These and other destinations have repeatedly won acclaim from prestigious travel magazines in recent years.

In the Asia categories of the WTA, Vietnam was also named Asia’s leading destination in the culinary, culture, and heritage categories.

Established in 1993, the WTA aims to acknowledge, reward and celebrate excellence across all sectors of the tourism industry. Today, the WTA are recognized globally as the ultimate hallmark of quality, with winners setting the benchmark to which all others aspire.

e: [email protected]

>> See all features from Asia Talk

  • facebook
  • googleplus
  • twitter
  • linkedin
  • linkedin